What Does Epiphany Mean To You?

Epiphany

As I gazed upon my calendar right there imprinted on this date was the word epiphany. A quick definition found on Google:A sudden revelation or insight. But why was this word on my calendar? As I read through a deeper explanation found here, some things began to unravel in my mind. Going back replaying moment by moment I thought why does this word warrant a note like a holiday or special event? Then curiosity got me and I was swiftly going from the story online, to Mathew 2:1-12 and then to confirmation that Magi indeed meant wise men. All roads led to Jesus.

Who knew, well I am sure some of you did, that The Twelve Days of Christmas are not before but after Christmas day? Who knew in some traditions they take all their Christmas trees and wreaths down and have a bonfire on the twelfth day?

But the tradition was beloved in old England.
”Twelfth Night was the burning of the greens; you took the Christmas wreaths
down and burned them,” said the Rev. Bill King, rector of Trinity Episcopal Church in Clanton. ”In the old English tradition you’d have a bonfire on Twelfth Night.”

Who knew that epiphany represents when the wise men follow the star to where Jesus was in Bethlehem. For many this may vary slightly by religion but how interesting to wake up and account back to my play by play morning to see how God is always leading us.

When I woke up and realized my husband was not in bed since he had fallen asleep on the couch, I walked out, woke him up, very nicely of course (insert sarcasm) and hurried him off to our bed so he would be there when our three-year-old awoke. A quick walk down the hallway back into the living room to grab the bowls and wrappers left along the banister and a then a pause. I walked over to our tree thinking I should have already taken it down and leaned in and smelled the beauty of it one more time. In our home, we don’t just put up a tree we put up a BIG TREE.

ChristmasTree

Then off to read my bible for the morning but first a brief look at my calendar. Part of my 30 days of hustle (#30DOH) challenge is to be accountable and reading my calendar each morning is part of this. Then there is that word that stares me in the face: epiphany. The words itself caused an epiphany.

Then we are back to where we started. As I read through the article it states:

But many churches do observe the ancient feast of Epiphany on Jan. 6, a holiday associated in western churches with the coming of the magi to honor the infant Jesus.

Could it be mere coincidence on the day I stopped to look at my tree and think it should have came down last night but I was too lazy also be the day after the day that people often celebrated the tree coming down? Could it be mere coincidence on the day I looked at epiphany written on my calendar that it is considered to be the day of celebration of Magi coming to honor Jesus’s birth?

No, I think not. Today I planned on reading Psalm 5, but I didn’t until just now when I had to open up my bible to see what I had planned to read. Instead, I read Mathew 2:1-12. What was in the first line of Psalm 5 as I briefly read through what I missed?

“O Lord, hear me as I pray; pay attention to my groaning. Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for I pray for no one but you.” Psalm 5: 1-2. (NLT)

Then the deeper dive in explanation found within the study portion in my bible: The secret of a close relationship with God is to pray to him earnestly each morning.

The last question in Mathew 2:12 in the study explanation says: In what ways has Jesus affected the direction of your life?

As we all approach New Year’s Resolutions, or goals or habits or whichever you prefer to call it ponder on this. Epiphany: A moment of sudden revelation or insight. Are your eyes on the right things? Do you pray about what your goals and habits should be? Do you trust in God to lead you where you need to be? Do you allow time to pause? Do you know your insight is not a mere coincidence?

When I woke up this morning my schedule was set but God had a different plan for me. When I woke up this morning I didn’t know I would write a blog like this. I did not intend on writing about religion or insight or Jesus. But God had a different plan.

Do you pause for clarity? Do you allow epiphanies to happen in your routine?

Please comment below on your thoughts. Rather you are religious or not. Rather you believe or not. Do you allow moments of insight to guide your path?

If you enjoyed my post please share on Facebook or Twitter. If you have enjoyed my posts please follow to receive weekly notifications. I look forward to reading your comments.

Leave a Reply

